This module consists of a large variety of collections from the U.S. National Archives, a series of collections from the Chicago History Museum, as well as selected first-hand accounts on Indian Wars and westward migration. One of the highlights of this module is its focus on American Indians in the first half of the 20th Century, a period that has not been studied in as much detail as the calamitous 19th Century. The two major collections on the 20th Century in this module are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these 20th Century records, American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971, features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the 19th Century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes. For related collections, see the Records of the National Council on Indian Opportunity and the FBI Files on the American Indian Movement in the American Politics from Kennedy to Watergate module.
DOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, and is committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.
All access to the NY Times website including the Times Machine for historical research.
Please follow these four steps to complete the sign up process:
Step 1: Navigate to www.accessnyt.com
Step 2: Search for and select "Dickinson State University”
You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; you must use your @dickinsonstate.edu (not ndus.edu or any other email address)
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email) *
* The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
If You Have An Existing New York Times ID Using Your DSU Email
If you have previously registered your @dickinsonstate.edu email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" link found below “Create Account” and log in with the same school-issued email address and password previously registered.
Once registered, faculty/staff will have 4 years of full account access (or access until they leave DSU), after which they must re-authenticate by visiting accessnyt.com. Students will have access until 12/31 of the graduation year they choose.
Congressman, Governor, and United States Senator, Robert Marion La Follette is one of the crucial figures of the Progressive Movement of the early twentieth century. This collection documents his early career in the political reform movement from 1879 to 1910. During these years, La Follette emerged as the powerful leader of the reform coalition which was struggling with the state's large economic interests for control of the government. In 1901 the reformers won control of the state Republican party, and La Follette began the first of his three terms as governor. La Follette's papers focus on his fight to reform corruption and injustice in the political system of the state of Wisconsin. Under his dynamic leadership, the Wisconsin state legislature enacted sweeping reforms including railroad regulation and the primary election law which replaced the old caucus and convention system. These important pieces of legislation then served as the models for similar reforms by other states and by the federal government. Thus, it was under La Follette that Wisconsin earned the title "laboratory of democracy."
This module consists of 26 collections from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society, the first North American historical society and the first library to devote its primary attention to collecting Americana. The collections digitized by ProQuest from the holdings of the Massachusetts Historical Society focus on the Colonial Era, the Revolutionary War, and the Early National Period, with some collections extending into the Civil War era. Among the collections on the Colonial Era, one notable collection is the Pre-Revolutionary Diaries, 1635-1774. This collection consists of 276 diaries written by 112 people. Taken together, these diaries provide a rich portrait of life in America before the American Revolution. Highlights of the Revolutionary War and Early National Period are the Benjamin Lincoln Papers, Revere Family Papers, Elbridge Gerry Papers, and Artemas Ward Papers.
