Subject Guides: Nursing and Health Resources Guide: Home

Chat with a Librarian

chat loading...

Additional Web Resources

CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) Government website covering Diseases & Conditions, Healthy Living, Travelers' Health, Emergency Preparedness and more
CHE (The Collaborative on Health and the Environment) The Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE) is a nationwide network of concerned people and organizations working together toward the shared goal of improving public and individual health. CHE Partners include representatives of patient organizations, health professional and scientific societies, community organizations, environmental health advocates, funders and indeed all those interested in working together to improve public and individual health. Dickinson State University is currently an organizational partner.
CHE Webinars CHE hosts webinars on a wide variety of environmental health topics. These webinars are open to the public and are not restricted to CHE partners or members of individual listservs.
Healthy People 2030 Healthy People 2030 sets data-driven national objectives to improve health and well-being over the next decade.
WHO (World Health Oranization) Link to Health topics that WHO is involved with.

Tips for Evaluating Information Found on the Internet

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask Link to UC Berkeley site with helpful tips on how to evaluate the quality of a web page.

Nursing and Health Databases and Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text journals and magazines, over 4,000 full-text peer-reviewed journals. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study including animal science, anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, general science, law, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & philosophy, science & technology, veterinary studies, and zoology.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database which includes full text and indexing and abstracts for: computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies and more.
Alt HealthWatch (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
APA PsycArticles (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycBooks (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window APA PsycBooks® from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection . It also contains over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database offers a diverse array of full-text and indexed content covering the full spectrum of the applied sciences and computing disciplines — from acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear engineering.
CINAHL Ultimate with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window CINAHL Ultimate® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is EBSCO's interface designed for the everyday consumer of health care information. CHC provides convenient access to easily understandable health and medical information. Consumers can search and browse within medical encyclopedias, popular reference books, and magazine articles.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ebook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Search and view the full text of eBooks.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Gale OneFile: Science (Gale Cengage) This link opens in a new window With the Gale OneFile: Science, researchers can remain current with the latest scientific developments in particle physics, advanced mathematics, nanotechnology, geology, and hundreds of other areas. More than 350 full-text, non-embargoed journals are covered; updated daily, this collection includes more than 1.6 million articles to satisfy almost every scientific inquiry. Key subjects covered include the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database is the richest collection of consumer health information available to libraries worldwide, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
JSTOR (ITHAKA) This link opens in a new window Titles span more than 20 disciplines, including leading journals in core areas such as business & economics, education, history, and language & literature. JSTOR's archival journal collections include more than two thousand journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. And of those, 558 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source or Biomedical Reference Collection.
Nursing Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window An evidence-based information resource designed by nurses for nurses. Features care plans, Core Measure topics, Leadership & Management CEs, nursing management topics, regulatory topics, skills with competency checklists, videos, patient education handouts and more!
PrepSTEP (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window PrepSTEP for Colleges and Universities is packed with tutorials, practice tests, e-books and high-stakes test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness. Improve your core English, math, science and computer skills. Score higher on college placement tests. Take practice tests for graduate school entrance exams or occupational exams for careers in nursing, teaching, law enforcement and more! Database includes TOEFL practice tests. Users must register for a free account to fully utilize this resource which includes interactive practice tests, tutorial courses with scoring, complete answer explanations, and analysis of results. For test preparation for the TEAS and other nursing school entrance exams, go to Career Preparation; choose Prepare for an Entrance Exam; then, looking at Prepare for Nursing School Entrance Tests, select either Nursing School Practice Entrance Tests or Nursing School Entrance Tests eBooks. For test preparation for the NCLEX, go to Career Preparation; choose Prepare for an Occupation Exam; then, looking under Nursing, select the version of the NCLEX you will be studying for.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).