Subject Guides: Scholarship Corner: Scholarship Resources

FAFSA Resources

The Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is a source of federal money (both grants, loans, and work study) to help fund your education. Not everyone qualifies for Federal student aid, but you need to apply to determine eligibility. You will need to fill out this application every year. For questions regarding the FAFSA, please contact the DSU Financial Aid office. Further online resources are listed below.

FAFSA - Bank of North Dakota Go here for information on completing your FAFSA.
Study.com Guide to FAFSA and Financial Aid The team at Study.com recently developed a comprehensive guide to financial aid and the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for college students in order to share information about different resources that can be utilized to fund a college education.
Office of Federal Student Aid The office of Federal Student Aid provides publications, fact sheets, online tools, and other resources to help you prepare and pay for college or career school.

Scholarship Opportunities

Chronicle of Higher Education Scholarship In our rapidly changing world, fair and reliable journalism matters more than ever. Are you ready to be a part of it? The Chronicle of Higher Education Scholarship for Diversity in Media is part of our commitment to helping foster the next generation of journalists and bringing more diverse voices into the industry.
Study.com Scholarship Home Page Study.com Scholarships are awarded annually. Any applications received after the deadline will be considered for the following year.
Study.com Scholarships for Military Children This scholarship is for children of active duty military members or veterans. Visit the link for more information.
Study.com Teaching & Education Scholarships This guide walks prospective educators through the process of finding and applying for scholarships. It provides tips on writing a scholarship essay and a list of over 50 scholarships geared toward educators and people in related fields.

Scholarship Resources

PrepSTEP (EBSCO) Check out the Scholarship Finder Tool located in My Center. Create a free account to view scholarships that meet your criteria.

PrepSTEP Scholarship Finder Step by step instructions for finding the PrepSTEP Scholarship Finder.

Dickinson Chapter of the American Petroleum Institute Current API members can sponsor up to two scholarships recipients, the member is required to be current on their membership dues. Applications are available at our monthly API meetings January- March. All entries must be returned to the Dickinson API scholarship committee by April 15th. Transcripts are required along with the application. Note: The field of study is not required to be in the oil & gas industry. Geographical location does not play a role in the application.
DSU Heritage Foundation Our generous donors have created endowments and scholarships to assist students in pursuing their Dickinson State University degree. Our single scholarship form will link students to the scholarships they qualify for, not including Merit or Theodore Roosevelt Honors and Leadership Program.
DSU Scholarships This is a list of scholarship resources here at Dickinson State University. In addition to resources directly available at the college, there is an extensive list of outside scholarships.
Education and Career Planning The State of North Dakota provides resources on getting financially ready for college including a scholarship search function and tips for money management.
ND Career Builders Students who are completing in demand certificate and two year programs might be eligible for scholarship dollars or loan repayment through this public/private scholarship/loan repayment endeavor. Visit the site for more information.
North Dakota Community Foundation These are lists of scholarships offered around North Dakota. Some are associated with a particular school or a particular county. Double check requirements before submitting an application.
North Dakota Department of Career and Technical Education The CTE website lists a few CTE specific scholarships that are available along with suggestions of where to look for more options.
North Dakota Dollars for Scholars New in 2019, anyone who graduated from a ND high school is eligible to apply for a Dollars for Scholars scholarship.
Scholarship & Grants - Bank of North Dakota Go here to view information put together about the process of finding and applying for scholarships and grants.

Confessions of a Scholarship Winner by Kristina Ellis On the first day of high school, Kristina Ellis's mom, a single, working mother who lost her husband to cancer, informed her that she could not financially support her after graduation. Kristina would need to find her own way to pay for college. Kristina shares not just her little-known secrets for scholarship success but her incredibly inspiring story.
Call Number: LB2337.4 .E45 2013
ISBN: 9781617951572
Publication Date: 2013-04-16
Write Your Way to a Successful Scholarship Essay by Candace Chambers Searching for scholarships -- Understanding the prompt -- Writing the introduction -- Writing the body parts -- Setting yourself apart -- Writing the conclusion --Revising and editing -- Saving/recycling the essay -- Practice writing the essay -- Uses of scholarship funds -- Conclusion
Call Number: LB2337.6 C65 2018
ISBN: 9781981455478
Publication Date: 2018-01-07
How to Write a Winning Scholarship Essay by Kelly Tanabe What separates a scholarship winner from a runner-up? In most cases it's the scholarship essay or interview. This book shows you how to craft a winning essay and deliver a powerful interview.
Call Number: LB2338 .T363 2018
ISBN: 9781617601323
Publication Date: 2018-06-12
Fastweb College Gold by Mark Kantrowitz; Doug Hardy This book offers a step-by-step program that builds a complete package of scholarships, loans, and federal aid. Learn how to develop a plan, apply for loans, scholarships, and grants, and pull it all together. Let FastWeb's College Gold help you figure out how to cover the costs of college one step at a time.
Call Number: LB2342 .K36 2006
ISBN: 0061129585
Publication Date: 2006-09-26

BEWARE OF SCHOLARSHIP SCAMS!!! For more information on what to watch out for click here.

Broke Scholar You can search for scholarships based on where you are in your education, area of study, gender, or ethnicity.
Cappex Cappex hosts a database of more than $11 billion in scholarship opportunities. Once you create a personal profile, you can search for opportunities that directly match your strengths and skills. Plus, Cappex has a tool that will calculate your odds of getting into a certain college before you even apply.
Career One Stop The CareerOneStop tool allows you to: Look through the site’s entire inventory of scholarships, arranged in order of closest deadline. Narrow your list with a “search by keyword” option: Just enter a keyword about the type of award you’re looking for. Use the filters to see opportunities for only certain types of awards, locations, level of study, and more.
Chegg Chegg is widely known for its online textbook store that allows students to either rent or buy textbooks for cheap. But Chegg is also a great resource for finding scholarships — more than $1 billion worth of them.
College Board While the College Board is known for its college planning tools, it also has an arm that focuses on scholarships. Big Future hosts scholarships, as well as other financial aid and internship information from more than 2,200 programs — totaling nearly $6 billion. In order to get the most accurate search results, it’s critical to fill out as many details as you can in the profile that’s used for searching.
Fastweb Fastweb hosts more than 1.5 million scholarships that provide more than $3.4 billion. Once you create a profile, the site’s search feature will help you find the most accurate matches that fit your needs. Your personal profile is how the site helps you find pretty much exactly what you’re looking for.
FinAid! FinAid! is a part of Fastweb. It gives additional information about other funding sources, applying for financial aid, and college cost calculators.
GetSchooled Follow GetSchooled on Instagram! They post about general college information and include a scholarship of the week.
Moolah Spot Moolahspot isn’t as robust as some of the other scholarship databases, but in the search for a college scholarship, it’s another option to help you find extra money.
Niche Formerly known as College Prowler, Niche is a great tool that can help you find colleges AND money. It’s organized into categories that make it pretty easy to find what you’re looking for — allowing users to search by interest, career, major and other areas. Niche also has some contests to enter.
Peterson's Peterson’s hosts $10 billion in scholarship opportunities and also provides information to help you in your search. Once you fill out a short survey, you can filter your search results so they’re tailored to your specific needs. The site also allows users to search by a variety of different topics, college types and personal details — in order to give you the best results for you.
Phi Theta Kappa Phi Theta Kappa is an honors society. Some of the scholarships listed are for members only, but a good number are for open application.
Scholarship America Scholarship America manages thousands of scholarship programs. Many are only open to employees of the sponsoring company or their families, but some are available to students in the general public.
Scholarships.com Scholarships.com hosts one of the largest scholarship databases out there and it’s updated on a daily basis. It’s easy to browse by category, but the best way to take advantage of what the site has to offer is to make a personal profile, which will allow you to find the most exhaustive lists of opportunities available to you.
Unigo Unigo hosts millions of available scholarships and makes it easy to search by type, including: athletic scholarships, college-specific scholarships, company-based scholarships, minority scholarships, major-specific scholarships, state-specific scholarships and more. You can search by category or create a personal profile to get more specific results that match your needs. Unigo also offers scholarship contests and sweepstakes.

Fastweb This will allow you to access your Fastweb scholarships on the go. You can match with new scholarships, organize your list, and track your progress.
Scholarships.com The Scholarships.com cloud-based mobile and desktop platforms are the easiest, fastest, most targeted and accurate method for high school students, college undergraduates, college grad school students and adult learners to find free college scholarship and grants to help pay for college.
The Scholarship System The app and chrome extension help organize your scholarship application efforts. It provides reminders of due dates and keeps track of total money awarded. The app is empty until you add scholarships so there are only scholarships you intend to apply for.
Scholly This resource is $2.99/month, but....some nice features come with that. It finds scholarships tailored to you; there is a real time editor for your essays; and you can monitor all of your applications in one place on all devices.

Here are some other places to look for ideas and help:

Your employer. Many businesses have scholarship opportunities for their employees.
Religious organizations. Some churches are able to offer scholarships. Even if this is not a service offered, they might have ideas of where to look.
Your community. Local businesses, local or state PTAs, and local chapters of Dollars-for-Scholars are all options to look into when on a scholarship hunt.
Your hobbies. Hobbies with national governing bodies are the most likely sources of college funding.
Your academic interests. Many corporations, professional organizations and honor societies have scholarships for students with a demonstrated interest in a particular field.
Companies and Philanthropic Foundations. Companies like Coca-Cola have scholarships available.
College Raptor has articles with tips on how to make the most of your scholarship search and put out the best applications possible.
The Scholarship System gives free webinars and articles on the subject of finding and winning scholarships. They also offer essay editing.
S cholar Snapp allows you to create a profile with the standard content requested by scholarship applications. Saving this data in one secure, centralized place allows you to reuse the content for other scholarship applications without requiring you to retype your personal information for each subsequent application.

Scholarship Corner: Scholarship Resources

Chat with a Librarian

FAFSA Resources

Scholarship Opportunities

Scholarship Resources