New Books & DVDs: Music/Art/Theatre

A pioneering study of how American composer Aaron Copland helped shape the sound of the Hollywood film industry and introduced the moviegoing public to modern musical styles.

"George Clinton's Parliament-Funkadelic collective (P-Funk) is one of the most iconic and important groups in popular music history. This authorized reference features rare photos and a color photospread and provides the official P-Funk canon from 1956 to 2023: projects, albums, songs, song personnel, and tidbits about each act and select songs"-- Provided by publisher

"This volume offers strategic approaches to auditioning for women, men, and non-binary actors of the global majority. It provides a fresh approach from the perspectives of two directors of color who are also actors working in theater, film, and television"-- Provided by publisher.

"This book examines in detail every Broadway musical which opened during the 1900s. It includes cast and credits, plot, critical reviews, London productions, recordings, published scripts, and film versions. The book also features extensive commentary for 300 musicals which opened during the decade"-- Provided by publisher.

"Kallie Marie offers a rare, candid, and insightful look at the perspectives of women in music production and audio engineering and how they navigate their industry"-- Provided by publisher.

"Very few artists are skilled at promoting themselves and their work. Drawing on the accomplishments of Shakespeare, Mozart, and several contemporary creatives, including Lin-Manuel Miranda and Wynton Marsalis, this engaging and practical guide will help you achieve artistic fulfillment, both personally and professionally--no matter your medium"--

"Listen to Classic Rock! Exploring a Musical Genre provides an overview of this diverse and complex musical genre for scholars of classic rock and curious novices alike, with a focus on 50 must-hear musicians, songwriters, bands, and albums"--

"This book provides an overview of musical theater on film for fans of the genre, with a focus on 50 must-hear musicals featured in movies"-- Provided by publisher.

"Listen to Psychedelic Rock! examines the people, records, places, and events that shaped one of the most exciting and influential periods in popular music"-- Provided by publisher.

"This text discusses the evolution of punk from its inception in 1975 to the present, delving into the lasting impact of the genre throughout society today"-- Provided by publisher.

"Listen to Soul! Exploring a Musical Genre provides an overview of soul music for fans of the genre, with a focus on 50 must-hear singers, songs, and albums that define it"-- Provided by publisher.

"The Musician's Mind translates the latest cognitive and neuroscience research into clear, compelling concepts that enlighten the central pursuits of musicians' lives: teaching, learning, and performance. No matter your instrument or level of musical ability, this book will show you new ways to optimize your mind's creative power and wellbeing"--

An authoritative re-definition of the social, cultural and visual history of the emergence of the "avant-garde" in Paris and London.

Comprising fifty chapters or 'visions', Running Up That Hill is a multi-faceted biography of Kate Bush, viewing her life and work from fresh and illuminating angles. Featuring details from the author's one-to-one conversations with Kate, as well as vignettes of her key songs, albums, videos and concerts, this portrait introduces the reader to the refreshingly real Kate Bush.

Deepens our understanding of what conductors do and why they matter. Neither an instruction manual for conductors, nor a history of conducting, the book instead explores the role of the conductor in noiselessly shaping the music that we hear.

"The Stage Actor's Handbook is an invaluable guide to theatre's traditions, protocols, etiquette, and best practices for current and aspiring performers. Spanning from first rehearsal to final curtain, it details the well-established, often-unwritten rules of theatre and includes insights from a host of well-known stage actors"-- Provided by publisher.

Widely referred to as the "bible of stage makeup," the timely revision of this classic text addresses principles and techniques in the use of makeup for the contemporary performer. This extensive exploration of the application and use of stage makeup and makeup for a variety of performance venues covers all aspects in detail and contains over 1000 photographs, drawings, and diagrams demonstrating step-by-step procedures.

Creative icon, visionary, and dreamer, Stan Lee co-created many of pop culture's most significant characters, including Spider-Man, Black Panther, and the Avengers. Stan Lee: A Life is the definitive biography of the Marvel legend by noted cultural historian Bob Batchelor, celebrating the centennial of Lee's birth.

Bringing together fifteen scholars of art and culture, this collection addresses visual and material cultural histories of settler colonialism, enslavement, and racialized diasporas in the contested white settler state of Canada, offering new perspectives for decolonial and anti-racist scholarship on art, archives, and creative practice.

In the contemporary world, voices are caught up in fundamentally different realms of discourse, practice, and culture: between sounding and nonsounding, material and nonmaterial, literal and metaphorical. In The Voice as Something More, Martha Feldman and Judith T. Zeitlin tackle these paradoxes with a bold and rigorous collection of essays that look at voice as both object of desire and material object.

A prominent conductor explores how aesthetic criteria masked the political goals of countries during the three great wars of the past century.