Citations are anything that is added to a reading list. Citations can be physical books, PDFs, streaming videos, web pages...just about anything you can think of!
Citations can be added to your list in a number of ways:
At any point in the process of making your reading list, you can send a document with your reading list to the library either by uploading your list in Reading Lists or by sending a document to the library.
You can use:
A more detailed document will lead to a more detailed Reading List. The library will work with you to build a list that will be most helpful to you and your students.
Click Add Items in the upper right portion of your screen.
A menu appears on the right side of your screen. Choose Library Search to be directed to the catalog. The Library Search is defaulted to search the Library Catalog (books, ebooks, DVDs, etc.), but you can choose to search in other scopes if you wish. Just click on Library Catalog to access the dropdown.
Put in your search terms to see what is available through the library on your topic. Click on the item(s) you would like to add to your list. From there you can do a number of things.
The Cite It! bookmarklet allows you to bring in resources from anywhere on the internet. View the videos below for a demonstration of how to use Cite It! and how to install it in your browser. Firefox or Chrome are preferred browsers. It is difficult, but not impossible, to add Cite It! to Edge. Please contact the library for assistance.
Once it is installed, Cite It! is easy to use. Before using Cite It!, make sure that you are logged into Reading Lists. The tool will not work if you are not logged in. In a different tab, search for resources. These can be text, audio, and/or video. When you find something you wish to add to your list, click the Cite It! bookmarklet in your Bookmark Bar.
A small screen will pop up. This screen autopopulates with information regarding the resource you are trying to add. Some sites provide more information than others. Missing information can be added later. Choose the list and section where you would like the citation to go and click Add & Close.
Click Add Items in the upper right portion of your screen.
Choose File. Upload the physical document you want to attach to the citation. Then fill out any of the form left unfilled. Click Add & Close or Add to add the citation to your Reading List.
Sometimes you find the perfect thing for the class...that you will be teaching next year. Instead of hoping you'll remember where to find it, you can save it in your collection in Reading Lists. Your collection contains items that you are saving for later. You can move things from your collection to existing lists, and you can move things from existing lists to your collection. You can add things to your collection through a catalog search, by uploading documents, or by using the Cite It! tool. You can access your collection by clicking Collection on the left side of your screen in Reading Lists.
To add things to your collection from a catalog search, first navigate into your collection by clicking on Collection on the left side of your screen in Reading Lists. Then click Add Items.
Choose Search, and enter your search terms. It defaults to search the Library Catalog, but you can change the search scope by clicking on Library Catalog and selecting another option from the dropdown.
Select the item you would like to add, and click Add.
The item is now in your collection.
To upload a document to your collection, first navigate into your collection by clicking on Collection on the left side of your screen in Reading Lists. Then click Add Items.
Click on Create. Add required information, upload your file, set Creative Commons license if applicable, and then click Save.
Your document is now available in your collection.
First, make sure that you are logged into Reading Lists. If you are not logged in, attempts to use Cite it! will prompt you to sign in. Conduct your search. When you find a resource that you would like to add to your collection, click Cite it! in your Bookmark Bar.
A small screen will pop up. This screen autopopulates with information regarding the resource you are trying to add. Some sites provide more information than others. Missing information can be added later. Choose Collection, and then click Add & Close.
The item is now available in your collection.
If you ever want to remove a citation from your Reading List, all you need to do is click on the ellipse to the right of the citation you would like to delete. Click Delete item. Click Delete to completely remove the citation from your list.
